So…I’ve decided

As a small-town, bible belt, lower-middle class white girl, I’ve known maybe a thousand of the 7 billion people roaming this planet. I’ve gone to the same church since I was five, scaled up the school system and graduated with a 3 point something gpa, can’t walk through Wal-Mart without stopping to greet a handful of people on the way. I remember when the four-lane roads were two-lane and the two-lane roads were dirt.

The itch to get out crawled under my skin, like it does for most teenagers stuck in a small town. I followed it to Iowa first and then California, using school as an excuse to live far away from where I’d already been. Iowa was my first taste of being on my own, and I found it not quite what I expected. The reason I wanted to live away from home was to live a life I couldn’t have back home. But Iowa was just like my town, in all the most ordinary ways.

Then, I went for SoCal. Spent three years there, and loved it! The people were like-minded and unashamed in who they were. The music scene was unlike anything I’d ever known. Even the food was incredible. My adventures started with a One Direction concert (two nights actually!) and ended with two dollars to my name and a job I couldn’t stand. I found the thing about California I hated was that I was so tied down, stuck in a place that was meant to be freedom. If I could have the sun and the beach and the people and the vibes without the menial part-time gig and car payment, then I’d be living the dream. I don’t mind being broke, as long as I’m having fun.

I’ve been back home for a year and a half now, and I am loving making the most of it, but the itch is back, and I refuse to be one of those people that wishes they would have when they could have. I have a job that gives me purpose, a house that I’m comfortable in, and friends that make me laugh, but I’d give it all away today for food I’ve never tasted and places I’ve never been.

That’s why I decided a few months ago that I’m leaving…yet again. Most countries will let me travel for two to three months without any sort of visa, which is plenty of time to enjoy the scenery. I’ve been saving, and will continue to save, and then, when my lease is up, I’m off! I feel good knowing that I have a support system and a home to come back to, but I crave to see the world more than I need the comforts of familiarity.

I can’t wait to keep you updated as things progress!

xoxoxo

Pende

Leave a Reply

